Training Session 6-30-13

Chris, Gary, Jason and I today…

2 rounds shadow boxing
Broke out the focus mitts for some work on Russian style fisticuffs. Lead hook followed by a lead back handed blow (backfist or hammer, I prefer hammer) followed by a rear hook. Very fast three punch combo. Nothing new for us but found a nice way to feed it with the mitts so a nice addition. You can see clips of this on our Facebook page:
On with the jackets for some sambo…
Our throw for today…the sambo floating throw. A lot like Osoto gari or an outside sweep but a little more aggressive and higher percentage imo but we will see how it works out in the future.
947153_10201469595567032_655667997_n
Chris then took us through an armbar set up and a few chokes. I played choke dummy for this portion and to be honest my throat feels pretty wretched today…adams apple is sore and swollen but hey, I knew what I was getting myself into:)
We ended the session with Gary and Chris rolling live.
As usual I wanted to do some weapon work but ran out of time. I need to squeeze some in next week for sure.
Leave a Reply

