Session 10-7-12

Chris, Dave, Improper Dave, Matt and I today…
2 rounds shadow boxing
1 round each focus gloves
1 round free for all, everyone vs everyone boxing
1 round limited sparring, straight lead hand only…last week Chris and I worked on his straight lead JOLT ala Dempsey, he landed it on me from distance and sent me reeling, the wall saved me from a solid planting of my butt on the mat. I few seconds later, still reeling from the jolt(Probably the hardest punch I have ever been hit with) I got hit with another stiff lead that re-broke my freshly healed nose. Comes with the territory. Soon it will just be mush.

 

Onto sambo…no jackets today, instead we jumped right into take down into an ankle lock. This video:was the inspiration even if we did a different variation on the entry, the idea was basically the same. We ended the grappling with and inside leg hook takedown, pass into side control just as soon as the opponent met the ground.

We ended the session almost on time after a brief discussion and demo of some of the slungshot work Kirk showed us at Rec Violence VIII.

I am used to having fewer people around so it was pretty interesting to see how much less we actually got accomplished with just a few extra bodies. Still a very good workout, just different. I may have to fix up the loft in the barn for the sake of having enough room because 5 people was pushing the limit on my little training room.

Leave a Reply

