Session 2-19-12

Just Matt and I today

My first training with a partner since breaking my thumb two weeks ago. Thumb still not usable but I am no longer in agony if I use my right hand for anything. Just have to wear a stabilizer cast for a while yet.
2 rounds shadow boxing
2 rounds boxing…I boxed one handed with my right hand behind my back. Got hit a lot and threw a lot of jabs and lead hooks/choppers.
1 rounds savate…felt better relying on my feet this round.
We then worked on a few Russian style kicks I had been playing with earlier in the week.
The golubets:
and the barrel kick:
I am a lumbering earthbound beast so these two kicks are a bit of a challenge but as long as I can’t punch with y right hand, it has been fun working on these.
We then worked on two take downs from a Russian 2 on 1 tie. Grappling was a bit iffy with the thumb as it is, so we were fairly brief.
Next up more Russian stuff…storm fighting drill. 10 second bursts of sparring with virtually no defense started from 10 different positions:
       1 standing face to face
        2 standing back to back
        3 kneeling face to face
        4 kneeling back to back
        5 sitting face to face
        6 sitting back to back
        7 lying head to head
        8 lying feet to feet
        9 lying side to side
      10 lying head to toe side by side
Many more variations possible but this was a good start…great great fun. Will be revisiting these again very soon.
We ended the session with some combat glima…basic work with a focus on catching the head and applying elbow blocks/blows as per the plates in Ling’s text.
Overall a good session, very glad to be able to do something given the state of my right hand.
Leave a Reply

