Fechtschule America 2011

Finally feeling rested and willing to do a quick review of the Fechtschule America 2011 event in Houston Texas.

When I left my house on Thursday morning to head to Pittsburgh International Airport, I had to chip the ice off the windshield and brush the snow off the van. We had a little going down the road sideways incident with the van as well. Winter was not letting go of her grip of Ohio yet(And it snowed last night, just two inches, but really, I have had enough already this year). Texas on the other hand was hot, by day for I longed for the ice and snow. I could go on about this but I did enough of that last weekend.

This event was very well organized and run, both the classes and the tournaments. The only hiccup was the tournament on Sunday running over but there was enough wiggle room that this did not make much of an impact. This event was also very sword/historical fencing centric…which is not a bad thing, the people it drew were for the most part there for the HEMA. This meant my two classes, pugilism and Parkyn’s close hugg were a bit underattended but honestly, I get to go over more material in a smaller class and the fact is, you have to start somewhere.

As per how I normally do these big multiclass events. I only took a few classes in the hope of retaining what I learned. Too easy to get brain burn.

Brian Stokes Fiore’s Abrazare – A bit different than what I normally do but it is always good to get some insight how others are going about grappling.

Luis Preto JdP against multiple attackers – This was the class I was looking forward tot he most and i am glad I go the chance to take it. I have done some JdP int he past but a different style so it was great to see this one in action.

Chris Amendola Cane as a weapon – A fun class with a few new things to learn thrown in as a bonus.

Stephen Fick Swetnam’s Rapier – I only got to take about a third of this class before having to get ready to catch my flight…still what I did get to do gave me a taste of the system. It seems like a good system for a guy like me who doesn’t particularly like rapier:)

Three tournaments this year, a Dussack, Nylon Longsword and steel invitational. Again very well run and towards the end you could really see some great technique being shown as the cream rose to the top.

Definitely a great time…my hosts, the Amendola’s did a great job at making me feel at home, I cannot thank them enough.

So assuming there is a next year’s event, it should be on your things to do list.

Leave a Reply

