Session 11-14&15-09

Saturday found me in Mechanicsville Maryland at Tim Anderson’s “Maryland Martial Arts”. I gave a 5 hour seminar to their fight team on leg locks, takedowns and takedowns into submissions from sambo. We also worked some casting punches for brutal ground and pound. We also touched a bit on savate since there was some interest in seeing just what it was like. A very good time was had by all, I hope, and I look forward to going back down in a few months to do it again.

Sundays session:
2 rds shadow boxing
2 rds boxing
1 rd floor GnP bag
2 rds footwork

We then broke out the longsword trainers and went over some basics and a few plays of Durchlaufen…not something we are heavily focusing on but a fun diversion from the constant punching and twisting of limbs. It is still great training but the variety is welcome.

We ended the session with some more entrenching tool work. Basically covering what we did last week and getting more comfortable with it. We worked lopatka vs knife a bit more this time around, getting used to intercepting the knife with the flat of the shovel rather than the edge. The edge is definitely more deadly but the flat of the shovel offers a much greater chance of successfully defending oneself against the attack that IMO it is vastly
superior. I will have to try and get a few clips of this filmed to share.

3 Responses

  1. Would you be willing to discuss in more detail the sort of savate in which you train?

  2. Sure:) I learned the basics back in 1989 in a JKD concepts school. I know my instructor then had learned his savate directly from Salem Assli at the Inosanto Academy.

    I stayed at the school for 3 years a made the kicking and striking arts my primary focus, so when I was not boxing or doing Muay Thai, it was savate.

    I continued to practice on my own until now with lots of research into the older methods and plenty of sparring and experimenting. Someday I would like to continue with more instruction but I am not getting any younger:)

  3. Excellent – thanks.
    I have been looking at some of the sources of a century ago myself, but don’t have any other (significant) background in it.

Leave a Reply

