Sambo Seminar With Mark Tripp and a stop at Atomic Athletic

This past sat Nov 1st, Sambo expert Mark Tripp ran a three hour sambo clinic in Findlay Ohio. About 3 1/2 hours to the west of us here in Kinsman.

1st hour: sambo basics and sport sambo. Grip work with some submissions and take downs.

2nd hour: combat sambo, some striking as well as building on what we did in the 1st hour.

3rd hour: military combative sambo

Very good seminar, I saw a number of things done differently and better than I do them. Nothing really new but some definite tweaks will be made to how I will do things….did I say tweaks, more like some things need overhauled:) I joked at the begining of the seminar seeing we were the only guys who had Kurtkas on…I said don’t be fooled by the proper equipment, we still suck….he replied that it was ok to suck at the begining of the seminar but that we not allowed to do so by the end….honestly, he came through and I know personally by the end of the 3 hours that my sambo had improved…it may just be that I suck less now.

The cost of this seminar was only $25, a great deal considering the amount of material covered and the quality of instruction. It is clear that Mark has been at this a very long time. His teaching style was very friendly and easy going…for me it made it very easy to learn. Low turnout though with only 8 people showing up. If I had known about this earlier I could have brought a few more people with me but as it stood I only had a little over a week to prepare and it was just too short notice for all but Matt and I, most likely because we lack real lives.

Hopefully this low turnout will not make them give up the idea of having him down again. I know I will make the trip again if I hear of another clinic.

While we were already heading west we decided to stop off at the Atomic Athletic showroom and warehouse in Bowling Green Ohio. Lots of interesting toys to play with, stone padlocks, stone rings, huge monkey fist knots, kettlebells etc…..very cool place and the owner was more than happy to take us on a tour and demonstrate just about everything and let us try it all out. I picked up a 35 lb solid kettlebell to hurt myself with while Matt picked up a Bull-Moose bar for lifting.

2 Responses

  1. Mark are you still teaching in the detroit area. You are by far the best judo instructor I have ever had and would love to get back into training with you. Unless you know someone in the macomb.shelby twp area of michigan that is training judo to your caliber

    • Hi Gregory,

      This is not Mark…my name is Ken, I train sambo about 5 hours southeast of Detroit…I do go to Marks clinics whenever I get the chance. Go to marks forum here:
      http://budokanjudoclub.proboards.com/
      I do believe he has something brewing in your area. You should at least be able to get some contact info from him there.

      Hope that helped.

Leave a Reply

